And so it begins..

Image

© cortlo

Lately I’ve been having a hard time coming up with things to write about because I have such high hopes for this blog and I wanted the first post to be really good. But I was reading a blog post yesterday in [grow] on how to become a more confident blogger, and one of the suggestions was to set a time limit on how long you work on a post. Mark Schaefer, the author of the blog, said that if you want to be an effective blogger, you can’t dwell too much on whether or not you’re completely satisfied with what you write because chances are you’ll never be and you’ll never get around to actually publishing a post. So right now, I’m gonna take his advice and just write about whatever feels right to me at the moment and stop caring so much about making it perfect.

Having said that, I’m gonna share a quote that I saw this morning by C.S. Lewis that really resonated with me:

It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.

- C.S. Lewis

Ever since I graduated from college last spring, I’ve been kind of stuck in a rut. It was a big change for me to go from living at school and being on my own to living at home again, especially since I don’t have a car and its really hard to get around in the suburbs without one. Because I don’t have a car, I’ve been limiting myself when it comes to the jobs I apply to, and its not so easy to find a job in graphic design (or anything creative for that matter) near me. I did find a job giving out food samples, though. Not really where I’d like to be right now, but its a start.. and I get paid $11/hour for each assignment, which is usually 6 hours long. The only downfall is that they only give me assignments on weekends, so for the other 4-6 days of the week, I basically sit at home looking after my dogs and playing Facebook games all day. As you can probably imagine, I’ve been incredibly bored over the last several months. And I had been toying with the idea of keeping a blog for a while but never really got around to it because I was lazy and wasn’t sure of what to write about that would be worth reading. However, since I love writing and would eventually like to work as an advertising copywriter, I decided to stop putting it off and finally start one. In the quote that I posted earlier, C.S. Lewis says that we can’t go on being ordinary eggs without going “bad”, and that’s what I want to avoid for myself. I want to hatch and put myself out there or I’ll else I’ll never be able to learn from my mistakes and keep moving on from them.

So here goes me “putting myself out there”. I can’t wait to see where this blog takes me and hope you all enjoy reading it =]

3 thoughts on “And so it begins..

  1. Really good Jackie. Not easy to “put yourself out there” but it was a very enjoyable read. Looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

